Our next event will be ……..

Wednesday 26th January 2022 7pm

An evening with Sophie Hannah.

Delighted to announce the first author event of 2022 will be Sophie Hannah 🔍 She will join us on 26/01 to celebrate the release of her latest novel The Couple at the Table.  Sophie Hannah is a Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling writer of crime fiction, published in forty-nine languages and fifty-one territories. Her books have sold millions of copies worldwide.

Book this event.

 

 

And in the following weeks ...........

Wednesday, 23rd February 2022 at 7pm

Join us for an evening with crime writer Elly Griffiths. She will talk about The Locked Room, the latest instalment in the the Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries.

This event is now Sold Out.

Wednesday, 4th May 2022 at 7pm

Elodie Harper on The Wolf Den and The House with the Golden Door

Join us for an evening with Elodie Harper, author of The Wolf Den, to celebrate the release of The House with the Golden Door. It is the second book in The Wolf Den trilogy, which is set in ancient Pompeii. Elodie Harper’s trilogy of novels reimagines the long-overlooked lives of women in Pompeii’s lupanar. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker’s The Silence of the Girls and Madeline Miller’s Circe.

 

Book this event

David’s has a long history of hosting visiting authors and speakers; from the bookfairs and ideas fairs of the 1970s and 80s, the later series of public debates and to our ongoing seasonal programmes.

Recent speakers include Dan Snow, The Hairy Bikers, Lucy Worsley, Janet Ellis, Jess Phillips, Katherine Rundell and Libby Page – among many others.  Most events will be held in our cafe which turns into a bright, welcoming space in the evening (re-opening as a cafe in very early spring). For larger events we work with a variety of venues around Letchworth including the Cloisters, Central Methodist Church, Broadway Theatre and the theatre at St Francis’ College.