Forthcoming events
Book now

David's Bookshop, Music & Cafe is located in Eastcheap, Letchworth Garden City, SG6 3DE
Letchworth Garden City, SG6 3DE

Award-Winning Crime Writer, Adrian McKinty

Award-Winning Crime Writer, Adrian McKinty will Discuss and Sign his New Thriller, The Chain ‘In Conversation’ with Best-Selling Crime Author, Mark Billingham

  • Tue Jul 16, 2019 - 19:30
  • David's Bookshop

'Starting THE CHAIN is like climbing aboard a runaway train. You'll miss meals, sleep, and your stop on the bus – guaranteed.'

Val McDermid

The Chain is a high concept thriller inspired by chain letters and exchange kidnappings. When a woman’s daughter is abducted, the only way to free her is to abduct another child. Her daughter will only be released when the next victim’s parents kidnap another child, creating a roving terror known as The Chain, that turns victims into perpetrators, and survivors into criminals.

Adrian McKinty was born and grew up in Belfast, Northern Ireland, during the troubles of the 1970s and 1980s. His father was a boilermaker and ship’s engineer and his mother a secretary. Adrian went to Oxford University on a full scholarship to study philosophy before emigrating to the United States to become a high school English teacher. His debut crime novel Dead I May Well Be was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger Award and was optioned by Universal Pictures. Adrian is a reviewer and critic for the Sydney Morning Herald, the Irish Times and the Guardian. He lives in New York City with his wife and two children.

Mark Billingham’s book sales now top 5 million copies and he is published in over 25 countries. His debut, Sleepyhead, (published in 2001) was singled out by The Times as one of the novels that shaped the decade and has gone on to sell over 750,000 copies. Two of his novels,Lazybones and Death Message both won the Theakstons Old Peculier Award for Crime Novel of the Year.  An acclaimed TV series based on the Thorne novels was screened on Sky One in 2010, starring David Morrissey as Tom Thorne and a six-part series, based on the standalone thriller In The Dark was shown on BBC 1 in 2017. 

Mark’s latest Tom Thorne thriller, Their Little Secret, was published in June.  Sarah thinks of herself as a normal single mum. It's what she wants others to think of her. But the truth is something far dark and more sinister. Meanwhile, Tom Thorne and Nicola Tanner are investigating a predator who claims to be something he is not. A man who is about to change Sarah's life…

Tickets are £6 and will be deductible from either The Chain or Their Little Secret if purchased on the evening.