Skip to product information
1 of 1

David's Bookshop

Bad Taste: Or the Politics of Ugliness by Nathalie Olah

Bad Taste: Or the Politics of Ugliness by Nathalie Olah

Regular price £18.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £18.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

A timely critique of consumer culture which captures this image-obsessed moment in history, perfect for fans of Zadie Smith's Feel Free and Jia Tolentino's Trick Mirror. This book is not a taste, nor an anti-taste, manual. This is an interrogation of the importance we place on seemingly objective ideas of taste in a culture that is saturated by imagery, and the dangerous impact this has on our identities, communities and politics.

This book is dedicated to understanding the industries of taste. From the food we eat to the way we spend our free time, Olah exposes the shallow waters of 'good' and 'bad' taste and the rigid hierarchies that uphold this age-old dichotomy. How did minimalism become a virtue, and who can afford to do it justice? When did blue-collar jackets become a fashion item? Who stands to gain from the distinction made between beauty, and sex? Bold, original and provocative, Bad Taste is a revelatory exploration of the intersection between consumerism, class, desire and power, and a rousing call-to-arms to break free from the restrictive ways we see those around us.

Hardback
Publication: 9 Nov 2023, Dialogue
ISBN: 9780349702261

Extent: 240 pages

View full details