Skip to product information
1 of 1

David's Bookshop

Those We Thought We Knew by David Joy

Those We Thought We Knew by David Joy

Regular price £10.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £10.99 GBP
Offer Sold out
Tax included.

Winner of the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Prize 2023

'A beautifully fearless contemplation' - S. A. Cosby 'A literary crime thriller about belonging and betrayal in rural America' - Paula Hawkins

Toya Gardner, a young Black artist from Atlanta, has returned to her ancestral home in the North Carolina mountains to trace her family history and complete her graduate thesis.

But when she encounters a still-standing Confederate monument in the heart of town, she sets her sights on something bigger. Meanwhile, local deputies find a man sleeping in the back of a station wagon and believe him to be nothing more than a drifter. Yet a search of the man's vehicle reveals that he is a high-ranking member of the Klan, and the uncovering of a notebook filled with local names threatens to turn the mountain on end.

As two horrific crimes split the county apart to reveal deep and unspoken secrets, an urgent, essential question arises: What do you do when everything you ever believed crumbles away?From award-winning writer David Joy comes a searing new novel about the cracks that form in a small North Carolina community and the evils that unfurl from its centre for fans of Daniel Woodrell, George Pelecanos, WIlliam Boyle and Ozark. 

 

Paperback
Publication: 6 Jun 2024, Headline
ISBN: 9780233006512

Extent: 400
pages

View full details