Skip to product information
1 of 1

David's Bookshop

Yr Dead by Sam Sax (PRE-ORDER)

Yr Dead by Sam Sax (PRE-ORDER)

Regular price £9.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £9.99 GBP
Offer Sold out
Tax included.

I can’t make heads or tails of it, the goat on the corner of Union and Metropolitan.

It is 2016 and Ezra has just lit themself on fire outside Trump Tower, New York.

Their life suddenly flashes across time and geography, leaping from memories of childhood to the inherited memory and historical movements of their family: smoking Winstons aged twelve, after Hebrew School; their mother disappearing without a trace; visiting a temple in Tel Aviv; a college reunion filled with ghosts.

Memories culminate to create a work that revels in estrangement, in feeling queer and at home, or queer and out of place; in feeling alive. Visceral, propulsive and at turns fluorescently beautiful and tragic, Yr Dead is a diasporic bildungsroman for fans of Ocean Vuong and Henry Hoke.

 

Paperback
Publication: 15 Aug 2024, Daunt Books
ISBN: 9781914198861

Extent: 288 pages

View full details